Blind Spots

Rear View Mirror for blog

I once got a letter–sent from the secretary of a school district, of all people—which complained that my application for employment could not be processed because she did not have my address.

This was so unbelievable, I called the woman on the phone.  She verified that, yes, my application could not be processed without my address—the same address on the envelope which contained the letter she had sent. 

“But if you don’t have my address,” I protested, “how did you have my address to address the envelope?”

A long silence was followed by “Well, we can’t process your application without your address.”

Fortunately, by the time I got that letter, I had already been offered employment elsewhere. I’d probably want to tear my hair out working with someone like that.

The new job meant a move. And that, of course, meant connecting new utilities. This was in the day before cell phones and the internet. So I needed a new home phone. The guy who hooked it up, however, forgot to give me a phone book and yellow pages, and I had lost the number of the phone company. So I simply dialed 411, information.

To my shock, they didn’t know the number. “Wait a minute,” I said. “You’re the phone company, and you don’t have the phone number of the phone company?”

Apparently they didn’t. I had to get it from a neighbor.

And, apparently, this sort of thing is a part of human nature. Jesus speaks of it in Luke 6:41—”Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?”

Probably because we’ve all got a log-sized blind spot in our vision. I realize Jesus was talking about judging the sins of others, but this seems to apply elsewhere too.

Like a woman I had an internet discussion with. She derided Catholics for believing things not found in scripture, but when I asked her how she knew what books belonged in the Bible, she answered that it took a certain amount of faith to know that. I had to point out to her that she herself believed something not in the Bible, and if she was allowed to do so on “a certain amount of faith” why wasn’t I afforded the same courtesy?

I heard of a preacher who claimed that unless the Bible told you something twice, you didn’t have to believe it. Oh, really? Where does it say that in the Bible? In fact, where does it say that in the Bible twice?

Blind spots. We all have them.

The problem with blind spots is that you can’t see them yourself, not, at least, until somebody else points yours out to you.

About ajavilanovels

I am the author of four Christian novels: Rain from Heaven, Amaranth, Nearer the Dawn and Cherish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

