Contrary to Fact

Milk for Blog

Once when I was a teen, my brother made the incredible statement that some brands of milk are superior. He could, he claimed, tell the difference between one company’s product and another’s. I asked him, “So, if I poured you a glass of one brand and a glass of a different brand, you really could tell them apart?” He assured me he could.

Well, we happened to have two brands of milk in the fridge, so I offered to put his taste buds to the test. When I got into the kitchen, though, I poured him two cups from the same container. After carefully sampling both, he proclaimed that one was indeed better than the other.

On another occasion my older sister complained that she couldn’t sleep because, even though I was using headphones, music from my stereo was bothering her. I turned it down, but she could, she said, still hear it in her room. I offered to turn it down some more, but, thinking better of it, I just flicked the power off.

Imagine my surprise when a few moments later Sis appeared in my doorway, complaining that the stereo was still too loud. She refused to believe it was off until I had her check for herself.

Our brains can fool us in all kinds of ways when we’ve already made up our minds.

When I was in high school, an acquaintance of mine told me that Catholics aren’t Christians. I asked her to define the term “Christian.” I don’t remember what her response was, but it was something like “a person who has accepted Jesus as his personal Lord and Savior.” I told her Catholics have indeed accepted Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior.

She said she believed me. So, did that put an end to the argument? Nope. Catholics, she assured me, are not Christians because her minister had told her so and “He’s a nice man, and he wouldn’t lie to me.”

She was going with the pre-conceived notion despite the reality. Apparently her brain had already made up its mind to such an extent that the difference between deliberately lying and being mistaken, or between sincerity and getting the facts straight, was nil.

This, perhaps, is why anti-Catholics will assure you that you believe Mary is a goddess and you worship her. Honestly, the denial of this should serve as sufficient proof that it just isn’t so. (Would they deny that Christ is God and that they worship Him?) Yet you’ll get claims that your denial is a damnable lie. After all, that’s exactly what they’d expect from a Mary-worshipping heathen like you.

It’s amazing how “infallible” people who don’t believe in infallibility are.

That’s because the facts, you see, just don’t enter into it.

About ajavilanovels

I am the author of four Christian novels: Rain from Heaven, Amaranth, Nearer the Dawn and Cherish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

