Getting It Right

Dishwasher for Blog

I’m not a big believer in trying to change a man just because I married him.

However, I did make an exception in one case. I wanted my new husband to put his dirty glass into the dishwasher.

I didn’t think this was too much to ask. After all, he could always manage to get it to the sink. How much more trouble could it be to move the glass just a few more inches into the dishwasher instead of leaving it for me to do?

A lot, apparently.

Do you know how many ways there are to put a glass into the dishwasher wrong? I do, because my husband found every single one of them. The fact that there could already be twenty glasses lined up in the dishwasher correctly didn’t seem to give him a clue.

First he insisted on placing the glass in the bottom rack. I explained that since the water down there was hotter, this would result in breakage. Well, he asked, couldn’t I just modify the temperature? Not unless I changed it for the entire house, I explained. That dishwasher didn’t come with a temperature adjustment.

Well, maybe it would be okay if he put the glass into the bottom right-side-up. Or sideways. No, I told him. No glasses in the bottom rack.

So he got it into the top rack—right-side-up. That, I explained, would result in a glass full of water. So, instead, he placed it into the top rack sideways.

I had to explain about the spray arms and how a dishwasher worked.

He seemed to think the dishwasher was unreasonable. You should, he said, be able to place your dishes into it any way you like and have them come out fine. The dishwasher should accommodate us, not the other way around.

But that’s not the way the dishwasher worked. It worked only one way.

Sometimes I think that’s the way we see God, as if He should accommodate us. Accepting Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior doesn’t mean He adjusts to us. Rather, since He is our Lord, we should adjust to Him. Like a dishwasher, He works only one way.

God is like an arrow that points in one direction, deviating neither to right nor to the left even a billionth of an atom’s width. Does this mean He’s rigid? You bet it does. But then again, unlike we puny, fallible humans, He’s always right.

He can’t say that a sin isn’t a sin just because we would like for it to be so. That’s why we can’t decide for ourselves what’s good and what’s evil. Fornication, for example, doesn’t become okay because “we’re in love.” Theft doesn’t become right because the item is being stolen from a large corporate store. The fact that otherwise you would get into trouble doesn’t rationalize lying under oath.

When we stand before God for judgment, such excuses won’t count. His justice works only one way. Yes, God is merciful, but even a merciful God can’t say a sin is not a sin.

By the way, you’ll be glad to know my husband always places his dirty glass in the dishwasher correctly now.

Unfortunately, sometimes he places it in there when the dishes are clean.

About ajavilanovels

I am the author of four Christian novels: Rain from Heaven, Amaranth, Nearer the Dawn and Cherish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

