Doubling Up on Prayer

prayer for blog

There are so many causes to pray for. Go to any Christian forum, and you’ll see an abundance of prayer requests like begging for the miraculous healing of a dying child to asking that a dog come through surgery okay. With so much to pray for, how does one choose?

I found myself in a bit of a personal dilemma when trying to decide whom to pray for. Two of my siblings left the Church decades ago, and I do want to pray for their return.

On the other hand, I read a book about how greatly the souls in Purgatory suffer. If you saw someone on fire, and you could alleviate his suffering just by praying, wouldn’t you?

Well, wouldn’t you?

I was caught between these two needs. Which should take priority? Or should I perhaps split my prayer and give 50% to each?

Then I came up with a solution that covers both.

Why not pray for a soul in Purgatory and ask that individual, in return, to pray that my siblings will return to the Church? After all, the Bible informs us that the prayer of the righteous avails much (James 5:16). We know the souls in Purgatory are saved and therefore righteous. Certainly prayer from such a person would be quite efficacious.

And that way I would cover both causes.

I was patting myself on the back for my brilliance in coming up with such a wonderful idea. But I should have realized that in a Church that’s 2,000 years old, I would not be the first to think of this.

In fact, it’s in the Catechism. Regarding the souls in Purgatory, it states “Our prayer for them is capable not only of helping them, but also of making their intercession for us effective.” (CCC 958)

So I’m going to continue to “double up” on prayer, hoping that both the suffering souls and my siblings will come closer to Christ every day.

About ajavilanovels

I am the author of four Christian novels: Rain from Heaven, Amaranth, Nearer the Dawn and Cherish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment